A little reflective

Dear all,

The other day, a friend of mine was teasing me about how I talk to my cats. I have two and enjoy a good chat with them – they’re great listeners. This friend doesn’t have any pets (though apparently he had a hamster once) and so, I believe, is incapable of understanding that it’s not abnormal to talk to your pets. Indeed, it would be even stranger if you didn’t. Only people with pets really understand other people with pets. My cats aren’t dumb animals. Each has its own personality, its own likes and dislikes, and they really do respond to you, even if it’s only giving you a “Don’t be so stupid” look. Maybe I do anthropomorphise, but it makes me happy.

I did a little work on my coursework essay today, though not half as much as I’d have liked. My main achievement was tidying the spice cupboard with maman. We took out all the baking things (sugar, glace cherries etc) and all the herbs and spices (including things up to seven years out of date!), threw a lot of them away and then put the remaining ones back tidily. I enjoy projects like that, as they feel very productive.

I’ve just finished watching Red Dwarf with Brother and my papi. It was the new three-parter, and it wasn’t very good to be honest, but I did enjoy it. However, Dave* has been repeating old episodes and they’re so much fun to watch. I love TV sitcoms. Because, you see, the characters become like old friends. I found that most of all with I’m Sorry, I Haven’t a Clue** after Humph died. I listened to old episodes and it felt like being in a room with people I’d known forever but hadn’t seen for a long time, laughing and joking and rehashing all the old punchlines. Sitcoms are my favourite TV. I do love documentaries and sketch shows and period dramas, but it’ll always be the sitcoms that stay with me long after I’ve forgotten all the rest.

I don’t really know what I want to do with my life, but if I could be a sitcom actor I would be very very happy.

Lots of love,
Wilhelm Scream.

* It’s a TV channel, for those not in the know.
** I know, it’s not a TV show and it’s not a sitcom, but it’s a long-running show with the same format and the same participants, so it’s a fair comparison.

Leave a Reply

