Food and shoes

Dear all,

My, what a busy day! Its Brother’s birthday, so my maman and I made a cake (Black Forest Gateau) which involved a lot of carefully arranging cherries to cover the entire surface of the cake while not leaving any gaps because we didn’t quite have enough. It did taste fantastic, though. So light! I also learnt how to clean the sink. If I’m to move out to go to university in October I want to be able to be fully self-sufficient in the can-clean can-cook can-do-simple-repairs sense. I can already cook (and enjoy it a great deal) but my cleaning knowledge is patchy. My maman is therefore educating me in the wily ways of the laundry monster. I’ll write them all down over summer to make a big Leaving Home Bible. I also made a vegetable soup for the freezer out of odds and ends from the fridge. It looks delicious and we’ll be eating it in a few days, so I’ll report back.

I need new shoes. I want a nice pair of brown brogues for everyday wear. However, I don’t want them to be made of leather. This appears to be an impossible concept for the shoemakers of the world as nowhere does non-leather shoes! Now, this was always going to be a difficult search at the moment, because sandal season has just arrived in the shops (many many months before it arrives in the sky). I did, though, think I might get lucky in the end-of-last-season sales. Apparently not. It is well-nigh impossible to find nice, reasonably priced, vegan shoes.* I just want smartish waterproof shoes, as my Keds are falling to bits after I was caught in the rain yesterday. I need more shoe options.

I am a vegetarian and, while I do currently wear leather shoes, I am well aware that there is a certain amount of hypocrisy in this. “You won’t eat animals but you’ll wear them? Wtf!” I know, I know. I don’t buy a lot of shoes, mostly because I can never find ones that fit, but that emans that when I do buy them I want them to be perfect. And the vegan shoes available are decidedly imperfect. Someone, somewhere, decided that all vegetarians/vegans are hippies with their feet distorted by many years of wearing sandals and clogs and consequently wouldn’t dream of wearing anything remotely fashionable or respectable-looking. Furthermore, anything that looks even vaguely wearable comes from the USA and costs about $150, plus shipping. I don’t have that kind of money to spend on shoes! I’d be perfectly happy wearing second-hand leather shoes (after all, they’d only be thrown away – it’s not like I’m killing a whole new animal) but even they don’t seem to be found in abundance. And I really need to try shoes on before I buy them, because of my very narrow feet. Please, save me from my ethical/style plight!

We’re having an Indian takeaway and a film to celebrate Brother’s birthday, as we can’t go out to eat because of my papi’s digestive troubles. I’d planned to write an essay today, but what with all the cooking and cleaning and having a bath and pottering around, I never quite made it. I’m going to plan it now, though, and write it either tomorrow or on Sunday.

Lots of love,
Wilhelm Scream.

* I’m not sure whether to say vegan shoes or vegetarian shoes. However, as a vegetarian doesn’t eat meat and a vegan abstains from all animal products, I thought vegan shoes sounded more accurate.

3 Comments

  1. Michelle said,

    Wednesday, 22nd April 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Try looking @ http://www.veganchic.com/ They have GREAT looking shoes that are really affordable

    If you are looking for a bit more dressy, try http://neuaurashoes.com/

    Their Spring/Summer has great looking options!

    • Thursday, 23rd April 2009 at 6:29 pm

      http://www.veganchic.com looks fantastic, but sadly:

      a) they’re a US company and I don’t want to pay shipping to the UK
      b) they don’t do my size! I have mini feet (size 4) and they’re only size 5 and above!

      But they are amazing shoes…

  2. Monday, 11th May 2009 at 7:09 pm

    […] have a big ethical dilemma. Some of you may remember this post that I wrote about vegan shoes. I also have narrow feet. For some reason, shops cater for normal width feet and wide feet but […]


Leave a Reply

