Curioser and curioser

Dear all,

I’m really not having a fantastic day. For three reasons.

1. The drama essay I wrote yesterday: epic fail. I just feel like I am fundamentally missing something in my understanding of this play. Stupid Brecht. Writing such stupid plays. I don’t know how I’ll ever manage to get an A in the exam. I find it really, genuinely hard to come up with ideas. People think I’m clever, but what I’m really good is is quickly memorising, understanding and regurgitating information. When I have to come up with something original I’m stumped. Also, a secondary, but equally big, problem is that I write slowly. I get arm cramp about ten minutes into any essay exam and never manage to write enough. It is a problem, because in drama you need to cover a lot of ground.

2. The stupid DSA cancelled my driving test due to “unforeseen circumstances” and booked me another one… at 9am! Nine in the smegging morning! I’ll have to get up so early it’s unreal. And I’m sorry, but what circumstances are so awful and unforeseen that you can’t fix them in a whole month? I’m super-cross with them.

3. I trekked up to ballet, half-running because I was late, only to find that the health club is closed because of a power cut.

However, it’s not been all bad. I had the most amazing sandwich today. I also came second in the school spelling bee, defeated only by the reigning champion. It didn’t help that Maud* was on the front row, watching me spell and snickering to herself. She’s a girl in the year below who always has to be right and is vastly superior in intellect to us mere mortals. She models herself on Gail Trimble. No jokes. I’m never sure if she hates me or wants to be my friend. But she is very annoying.

Language orals in two weeks! Eek! I need to learn some exciting phrases.

Update on the weight gain plan: I’ve gained about a pound. However, it’s probably all on my stomach, which is now fatfatfat. I’ve suspended all weight gain activities until after prom this weekend, due to this unforeseen circumstance. On the plus side, I’ve been doing some casual weight lifting with the ones we have at home. I’ve been doing about 30 reps every other day on average, and I do appear to be developing some biceps, which is very exciting news!

Lots of love,
Wilhelm Scream.

*Pseudonym. Last time you’ll be reminded.

1 Comment

  1. Friday, 1st May 2009 at 6:41 pm

    […] being snipped at, I was thinking about a particular thing that happened today. You may remember Maud. I found out today that she is coming to our prom this Sunday, as a guest of a girl in our year. Oh […]


Leave a Reply

