Never forget

Dear all,

Today was the last day of school. Ever. I cried.

The moment that really got to me was in our leavers’ assembly, when the head of sixth form was making a really nice speech, and she got to the bit about her class (which includes me, of course). Today was “Uniform Day”, when everyone came dressed up in their old shirts and skirts and so on. I’ve only been there for a few years so I didn’t have anything, so I brought my shirt from my last muck-up day, at the end of Year 11. However, at break time I nicked a proper one from lost property. Everyone signed it. Then, in leavers’ assembly I was just sitting there, thinking about the very first time I’d been in that hall. Then I looked around and everyone was wearing the same colours and I was wearing them too and my teacher was talking about all of us and in that moment I just felt that I belonged so completely there that I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else right then.

I’ll miss it so much, because this time I’m not moving on to another school – I’ll never have the structure and routine of school life again. I’ll miss all the people.

You know, one of my favourite things that people wrote on my shirt was that one girl (who I’m not ever *that* friends with) wrote the word “LEGEND”. I feel like I’ve been so accepted there. I’ll miss it so.

Never forget where you’ve come here from
Never pretend that it’s all real
Someday soon this will be someone else’s dream…

I hope that when it is, they’ll think it’s as good a dream as I have done.

Lots of love,
Wilhelm Scream.

Leave a Reply

