Failed. Again.

Dear all,

Today I failed my driving test for the second time. I made a mistake within the first ten minutes that I knew meant I had failed so I had to drive around for the next half hour just knowing it was totally pointless. I was so nervous and I don’t really know why. I failed for a stupid mistake last time and failed for what was possibly an even more stupid mistake this time. This is the frustrating thing. I know I can drive well – even the examiner said so. He said he doesn’t know why I was so nervous, but obviously the nerves just got to me. And he’s right.

I didn’t think my mother understood, because she kept saying “It’s not the end of the world”, and “there’s always next time”. But then she did say one thing very helpful: “When you do get it, it’ll last until you’re 75”. Because I was seriously considering just giving up, but that made me think that I ought to keep going because these few months of torture will give me a lifetime of driving.

I ought to have passed. And it’s all my fault that I didn’t. But I can live with that.

Tonight is prom with Brian. To be honest, I have hardly ever felt less like going out. But I will go, and I will at least be contented even if I don’t have an amazing time. Must go get ready. I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow.

Lots of love,
Wilhelm Scream.

2 Comments

  1. Mark said,

    Saturday, 23rd May 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Hey -I feel your pain!

    On one occassion I failed before leaving the parking lot! In the UK we have to do a number of pre-specified manoeuvres – and my examiner asked me to pull out of my parking bay turn 90 degrees and then reverse back in. He failed me for not checking my blindside (which I maintain I did). I then passed the rest of the test – but a fail on a manoevre fails your whole test.

    Stick with it – it is a horrible pain at the time – but when you get your licence in your hand every second of angst was worth it!

    http://readsmallprint.org/

    • Sunday, 24th May 2009 at 8:52 am

      I’m from the UK too, so I understand completely! My first time I got a mere 5 minor faults but then failed on a manoeuvre. I must say, though, it’s quite harsh making you the whole rest of the test if you fail that quickly! I mean, you might as well just give up and go home straight away… 😛


Leave a Reply

