This is a war, not a garden party

Dear all,

Last night I went to the cinema with Thomas #1, to see “In The Loop”. I did find it very funny, but it didn’t really feel like a film. I know it came out of a TV series, but when things are in cinemas you expect them to be a little different. Also, I felt really rather ill. If I’m in a car for a long time, I don’t exactly get motion sickness, but I need to open the windows and let fresh air in. I get a headache and I get restless and uncomfortable, and that’s exactly what I felt in the cinema. I’ve never had it anywhere but in a car before, and it was most disagreeable. However, I lived to tell the tale, although I did somewhat rush off afterwards to get home and lie down. I didn’t even have any dinner because I was feeling so ill, and I’d hardly had anything at lunchtime, so I felt all out of sorts today. I’m much better now, though.

I spoke to Chris on the phone last night. He was tired but basically fine. I asked his advice about Luke. Chris always gives very good advice, because somehow it’s always exactly what I need to hear at that moment. He also told me a funny story about how when he was younger he used to talk to girls he liked about other girls he liked, because for some reason he thought that would be a good way to get them – perhaps they’d be jealous? But to any teenage boys out there, if the girl you like is the tiniest bit insecure, don’t talk to them about other girls you like. It’ll just make them think you don’t like them at all and they haven’t got a chance. Chris also told me that the dreaded “friend zone” only applies to members of the male sex, because I’m slightly worried that I may be stuck in Luke’s friend zone. Is that true? I don’t know. I think it’s hard for a girl to be in the friend zone, but not impossible. And can I just say, it’s not hard for guys to get out of the friend zone. All you have to do is stop acting like her friend and start acting like her boyfriend – take her arm, cuddle, take her on romantic dates… Sometimes it just isn’t meant to be but you just need to make her see you as boyfriend material. And if you’re good friends, you’ll know exactly what she wants from a boyfriend – be that.

This afternoon, I watched Gone With the Wind. Wow. What a film! It didn’t even seem *that* long, only because so much happened in it. My maman and I now keep saying “It just ain’t fittin'” to each other, and calling each other “honey child”. Two things I hated: the death of Bonnie. The end. I can’t believe that Rhett gave up then. If he’d just held on for a few more hours, even a few more minutes, then I believe they could have been happy together. But now we’ll never know.

I may or may not be going to a gallery with Luke tomorrow. I’m not sure. His glasses broke, and he can’t go blind. But if I do, I’ll put some of Chris’s tips into practice and see where they lead.

Lots of love,
Wilhelm Scream.

1 Comment

  1. Thursday, 28th May 2009 at 3:18 pm

    […] first move and so on. It’s so nice to have everything sorted out for you. So there’s another tip, […]


Leave a Reply

