Forgive our foolish ways

Dear all,

Last night I went to a church service with a friend of mine. He has a very religious/theological side and we constantly debate about things. He’s a Christian, I’m not, but he wanted to show me his church to see what I thought.

It was a bit weird, to be honest.

My kind of church (I do like churches, even though I don’t believe) is very traditional and English. Ye olde hymns, sermon about being nice, everyone dressed up, lots of standing up and sitting down again, people listen quietly and sing dutifully. It’s safe and comforting. It’s times like those that I feel most sort-of connected to Christianity, because I feel a connection to my English religious heritage – all the centuries of belief and churchiness stretching back to 33 A.D. culminating in that one service I’m sitting in. That’s my kind of God Squad.

His church was very different. A lot of singing, and not exactly traditional hymns. Although there were chairs (not pews) set out in rows, there was a big space at the front and about twenty people were up there, literally jumping and dancing and throwing themselves on the ground. My friend pointed at one girl and said “She speaks in tongues”. I managed to not sit next to her…

The sermon was brief. It was about a short Bible passage and about the role of worship. Then there was more singing. A lot more singing. We actually left before the end.

I don’t know. I mean, I can see why people would like it, but I really didn’t. It’s very personal, I think. There’s not much of a sense of being connected to a wider community throughout time and space, like one might get in a more traditional C of E service.

He did, however, give me two books, one about Jesus and the other about the Bible. They look interesting, so I shall read them.

I only got 35/50 on an essay I emailed to one of my teachers. This makes me cross. And insecure. Because I’m really not very good at that subject, but I so want to get an A. Oh well.

Lots of love,
Wilhelm Scream.

P.S. Luke cancelled today. Still hasn’t got any glasses/contacts. I am most disappointed. I don’t know what I thought would happen, though, if I’m honest with myself. I mean, it’s becoming ever more apparent that he doesn’t care about me that much and isn’t willing to make an effort to spend time with me. It’s amazing how self-deluding one can be, really.

1 Comment

  1. Friday, 12th June 2009 at 11:10 pm

    […] – I suggest something and he never sounds excited or makes an attempt to follow it up. And, as we have seen, he has rescheduled (i.e. postponed, i.e. postponed indefinitely, i.e. cancelled) more than […]


Leave a Reply

